|Accommodation - Hotels >|
|The Steam Train|
Construction of this railway line began in December 1894 and one year later, on October 12th, the first section, Volos - Lehonia, covering a distance of 13 Km, was officially operated. Also completed were the bridge in Anavros and the one spanning Vrihona river, not far from Lehonia, which was the first to be built with fortified cement.
In 1900 the railway line was extended up to Milies village and by 1903 this section had been completed. The line from Lehonia to Milies is 16 Km long, with 28/1000 being the sharpest inclining slope. Technically, the work was extremely difficult because of the many bridges (6 stone bridges with two, three, four and five arches and one iron bridge), protective walls, tunnels, aerial pedestrian bridges, all masterpieces of engineering, representing the aesthetic power of the period, when engineering was sensitive to and in perfect harmony with the environment.
Today, after 25 years of silence, the little train puffs up Pelion mountain once more at 25 Km per hour, thanks to the strenuous efforts of its friends. At present, it departs from Ano Lehonia (soon the departure point will be Volos itself), climbing the mountain along a dreamlike route through olive groves, and passing the traditional settlements of Ano Gatzea, Agia Triada, Agios Athanasios, Pinakates and Argireika on the way, whistle blowing, until it reaches its final destination at Milies village.
The passengers are able to enjoy the fantastic view of the sea from the peak of the mountain, and as they travel they can take photographs of the magnificent bridges; the five-arched bridge, or the sturdy iron bridge, unique in Europe. On reaching the end of the journey, passengers they can also visit the historical library in Milies where they can examine the manuscripts of Anthimos Gazis, Konstanda and others.
Please send your enquiries at